Transition Teams

Shortly after being named president, Garrey Carruthers formed three transition teams to provide an independent assessment of NMSU Athletics, the Foundation and NMSU’s 2-year community college system. Carruthers seeks the advice of the individuals on these teams and has asked them to highlight areas where improvements can be made.

NMSU Athletics Transition Team Membership

  • Brad Beasley, Las Cruces Businessman
  • Michael Clute, NMSU Foundation Emeritus Board Member
  • Keith Mandabach, NMSU School of Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management Faculty Member
  • Larry Lujan, Aggie Alumnus
  • Walter Hines, Aggie Alumnus
  • Paul Brilliant, Retired Aggie Golf Coach
  • Jim Peach, NMSU College of Business Faculty Member
  • David McCollum, Las Cruces Businessman
  • Hank Cook, Aggie Alumnus
  • Shari Jones, Aggie Alumnus
  • Kevin Melendrez, NMSU College of Business Faculty Member
  • Lou Henson, Retired Aggie Basketball Coach

NMSU Foundation Transition Team Membership

  • Christa Slaton, NMSU College of Arts and Sciences Dean
  • Nick Franklin, Former NMSU Vice President for Advancement and Former President of the NMSU Foundation
  • Laura Conniff, Former NMSU Regent
  • Tom Mobley, NMSU Foundation Board Member
  • John Long, NMSU Foundation Board Member
  • Ammu Devasthali, Donor and Patron of the Arts
  • Tina Byford, Interim Vice President for University Advancement and Interim President of the NMSU Foundation
  • Andrea Tawney, NMSU College of Business Assistant Dean for Development
  • Angela Throneberry, NMSU Senior Vice President for Administration and Finance
  • Glen Haubold, NMSU Assistant Vice President for Facilities
  • Lee Golden, NMSU Alumni Association President

NMSU 2-Year College System Transition Team Membership

  • Mike Morehead, NMSU College of Education Dean
  • Greg Fant, NMSU Interim Executive Vice President and Provost
  • John Gratton, NMSU Carlsbad President
  • Paul Dulin, Hatch School Board and DACC Advisory Board
  • Connie Phillips, Las Cruces School Board President
  • Fred Lillibridge, DACC Associate Vice President for Effectiveness and Planning
  • David Franzoy, Hatch School Board and DACC Advisory Board
  • Efren Yturralde, Gadsden Public Schools Superintendent
  • Jeff Beasley, NMSU Engineering Technology Department Head
  • Allen Rickman, Alamogordo Public School Board President